Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

As Seen in Inside History

Inside History (Sept-Oct 2014)

So, as it turns out, I’m a little late but as the saying goes, better late than never. It’s thanks to my friend, Neville (http://njsfamilyhistoryresearch.wordpress.com/) who let me know that my little blog, Finding Family, made it into Inside History’s 2014 Genealogy Blog Awards.

The awards consist of 50 of the best blogs from around the world and are picked by the staff at Inside History as well as Jill Ball (http://geniaus.blogspot.com.au/). Some of the judging criteria to make the list included: originality, quality of content, historical accuracy, use of photographs, useability, interaction with audience and passion.

Presented in alphabetical order on pages 47 to 49 of the September-October issue of Inside History, Finding Family was listed as a favourite under ‘Personal Genealogists’.

The news has definitely made my weekend and I’m truly humbled to think that my blog made Inside History’s list. When I started blogging back in May 2010 (it’s been four years!?) it really began as an outlet for me to write about my research. I’d been researching my family history for about a year and though I was learning a lot, I still felt I needed something else. Something that involved writing. Blogging was suggested to me by my best friend (http://libertineeats.com/) and the rest, is history.

I’ve grown a lot from those tentative, shy beginnings where I often wondered “am I good enough?”. My early blog posts were factual but were far from the detail that is now involved. Despite this I am by no means ashamed of them. They were the means for me to learn and grow and serve as a reminder of this fact.

The blog itself is also constantly evolving and though I still share family stories, they are becoming more concise snippets rather than full biographies. I am also beginning to focus more on history and on sharing information or stories that I find in the course of my research.

Thank you with all my heart to those judging at Inside History and to Jill Bill. This nomination means a lot to me and I am incredibly proud that my work was considered to meet such meticulous criteria.

I’ll leave you with a quote that has almost become my mantra. I still haven’t found the means to turn what I love into a career but I continue to work at it and when I am frustrated that I can’t do what I love full time I remind myself..

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” Howard Thurman

I’ll get there eventually.

The list of personal genealogists who also made Inside History’s Top 50 Genealogy Blog Awards:

16 thoughts on “Inside History’s 2014 Genealogy Blog Awards

  1. Bill Wyndham says:

    Jess
    ‘am I good enough?’
    Jess I have followed you for many years now, and the answer is yes, most definatelRegards
    Bill Wyndham

    1. Jess says:

      Thank you very much for your kind words, Bill. I appreciate it. 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    Congratulations Jess. Now everyone knows what I’ve known since first reading your blog – you’re a star! Keep writing, researching and following your dream.

    1. Matt says:

      ” that’s my girl”

      VERY PROUD !

      1. Jess says:

        Thanks Matt! Thank you also for your support throughout the years. It means a lot. 🙂

    2. Jess says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Heather. I’ll definitely keep following my dream. 🙂

  3. Congratulations Jess, well deserved!

    1. Jess says:

      Thanks Kerryn! 🙂

  4. njsresearch6 says:

    Very pleasant to catch with “our star blogger” for lunch today

    1. Jess says:

      It was great catching up with you too, Neville. Thanks again for lunch. 🙂

  5. Peter Norris says:

    Wow Jess, what an achievement, But I’m not suprised, your Blogs are good reading.

    1. Jess says:

      Thanks Pete! Glad you enjoy reading them. 🙂

  6. Mom says:

    That is AMAZING! All of your Ancestors (and the living ones too!) have to be so incredibly proud of you! Congrats!

    1. Jess says:

      Thanks Mom! I certainly hope they are. 🙂

  7. Sheryl says:

    Congratulations! You are very deserving of this award.

    1. Jess says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Sheryl. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

