Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

Are you a Barratt descendant on Facebook? Click the following link and feel free to join the Facebook group for descendants of Enoch and Mary Ann (https://www.facebook.com/groups/794692100624173/).


Within the recesses of my memory, you will find fond recollections of sitting at my Grandma’s kitchen table, looking through old photos and listening to her talking about my convict ancestor.  As I grew up I attended a few of the Barratt reunions in virtual ignorance.  I knew who my convict ancestor was but it wasn’t until I started my family tree that I gained a better appreciation for the man who started a whole generation of Barratt descendents within Western Australia.  He is, without a doubt, the reason why I was inspired to learn about my family.

Enoch Pearson Barratt (my Great x 4 Grandfather) was born in Northamptonshire in England in 1812.  Around 1838, at the age of 26, he married Mary Ann Fleming and together they had four children, Elizabeth Mary Barratt (born on 4 December 1839 in Newport Pagnell), James Enoch Barratt (born on 8 October 1845 in Deptford – my Great x 3 Grandfather), Emma Matilda Barratt (born on 23 December 1848 also in Deptford) and Frederick Pearson Barratt (born on 28 December 1856 in Perth).

Enoch & Mary Ann Barratt

In the year of 1841, Enoch (living with his wife, Mary Ann and daughter, Elizabeth in the North End of Newport Pagnell) supported his small family by working as an agricultural labourer.  Ten years later and now residing at 25 Grove Lane in Deptford St Paul in Kent (with Mary Ann, Elizabeth and two new additions, James and Emma), Enoch was employed as a Switch Turner for London, Brighton and South-Coast Railway Company.  He had been working for them for more than five years and it was known that whilst in this position he had received a gratuity for good conduct.

It was also in this year that Enoch (along with his brother George) was brought to the Old Bailey Central Criminal Court in London charged with stealing various articles from his employer.  He was also charged with receiving stolen goods.  On 12 May 1851, he was found guilty of these charges and was sentenced to transportation for ten years.

It would be some time before Enoch would be transported and until that date, he was imprisoned in Newgate Prison in London.  It was here that he remained until 3 May 1852 when he departed from Plymouth on the ship “William Jardine” bound for Western Australia.  He arrived in Fremantle on 1 August 1852.

Convict number 1338; he is listed as being a married labourer with three children.  He is 5′ 6 1/4″ tall with dark brown hair and grey eyes.  His face is round; his complexion is described as sallow and his build stout.  Other distinguishing marks noted include a bite by a dog on his right arm as well as the forefinger on his left hand being broken at the joint.

Mary Ann and the children soon followed Enoch out to the new colony and they arrived in Western Australia on 23 March 1854 on the ship “Victory”.  During Enoch’s sentence he often worked for various colonists as a gardener until he was pardoned in 1856.  Deciding to make the most of his gardening skills, he started selling various plants.  Currently residing with his family on Murray Street (his land fronted it and ran the full length to Wellington Street), he utilised the nearby wetlands to grow his plants and in effect started one of the first nurseries in Western Australia.  Note: Today’s Shafto Lane was once named Barratt Lane after the family.

It was also during the year of 1856 that Mary Ann gave birth to their fourth child, Frederick who was their first and only child to be born in Western Australia.

In 1868, Enoch applied for and obtained the position of Government Gardener for the site now known as Stirling Gardens (in front of the Supreme Court).  Back in those days the gardens were home to various fruit trees which were of course very popular with the children of the colony.  A description of Enoch and his encounters with these children is found in the book The People of Perth:

But the Gardens had other attractions, notably the fruit trees which were fair game for the young and nimble.  And quick they had to be, because old Enoch Barratt, the ex-convict caretaker, carried a large knobbed stick which he had been known to use (or so it was said) on some luckless children.

Enoch remained employed in this position until his retirement in 1880.

 After nearly 40 years of marriage, on 11 February 1877, Enoch’s wife, Mary Ann passed away.  Later that year however on 25 October 1877, at the ripe old age of 65, Enoch remarried.  He and Maria Church (a lady who was also widowed) said their vows in the Trinity Congregational Church on St Georges Terrace.

Enoch Pearson Barratt lived for many more years in Western Australia with Maria and was surrounded by his children, grandchildren and even some great grandchildren until he passed away on 14 December 1895 at the age of 83.  He was laid to rest in East Perth Cemetery in the family plot with his first wife Mary Ann.

Though he will have been deceased for 115 years this December, he has by no means been forgotten.  The story of his life will forever be remembered, researched and retold by all of his descendents.

Sources:

24 thoughts on “Enoch Pearson Barratt

  1. Guy says:

    Hi Jess,

    I’m from the female side of the Barratt tree in WA via his daughter Emma who married into the Douglas family.

    Thanks for putting the information up.

    1. Jess says:

      Hi Guy,

      You’re welcome! Thanks for reading and thanks for your comment. It’s always nice to hear from fellow descendants of Enoch.

  2. Hi Jess, My maiden name was Linda Margaret Barratt and i’am the youngest daughter of Bevan Barratt so Enoch Barratt was my great,great,great grandfather.

    1. Jess says:

      Hi Linda,

      Bevan Barratt was my Grandpa’s (Ronald Victor Barratt) cousin! Bevan’s Dad (Reginald Edward Barratt) and my Grandpa’s Dad (Charles Victor Barratt) were brothers. 🙂

      It’s wonderful to hear from another Barratt cousin! Do you have any stories about the Barratt family or about Enoch? Please feel free to email me (findingfamily@hotmail.com.au) if you like.

      Thanks for leaving a comment. 🙂

      1. Hi Jess, Were your grandpa and grandma Ron & Audrey who lived in North Perth? My mum and dad visited them quite often?

      2. Jess says:

        Yep! My grandparents were Ron and Audrey of North Perth. 🙂 I just checked with my Dad and he remembers the name Bevan Barratt and said Bevan visited quite a bit.

  3. Hi Jess, My dad and mum lived south of the river until about twenty three years ago. They then moved to Tuart Hill and lived in a unit,but i remember dad often saying they had been to visit Ron and Audrey.Do you have much information about the names of the children of Reginald and Ethel my grandparents? If not i can help you with that. I can also give you the names of granny and pop’s grandchildren. I have never really been interested in the family history but my eldest daughter saw your site told me about it and it really spiked my interest.

    1. Jess says:

      Hi Linda,

      My Mum mentioned they lived in Tuart Hill! I have information and newspaper articles about Reginald & Ethel’s children but not as much about the next generation. I would love to add new info as well as confirm everything and would be more than happy to share what I have with you too. If it’s okay with you, can I send you an email to the address you used to register your comment?

      I’m glad to hear your interest has been spiked! I’m a little obsessed to be honest. My dream is to one day write a book about the Barratt family. 🙂

  4. Hi Jess, That would be fine for you to email me at the address i used to register my comment.I’m only just learning to use a computer at fifty two years of age and do sometimes stuff things up and have to get help from my daughters,so you may not hear from me straight away,but i will reply

    1. Jess says:

      No worries Linda. I’ll send you an email later this afternoon. 🙂

    2. Jess says:

      Hi Linda,

      Just tried to send you an email but it came back as undeliverable. Could you please double check your email and I’ll try again? Thank you.

      1. Hi Jess, Not sure whether i wrote it down properly before, maybe try this.Hope that’s rite one if not i’ll get my girls to check it out. Thanks Linda

    3. Jess says:

      Email has been sent without any issues. I look forward to hearing from you. 🙂

  5. Barbara says:

    Hello Jess, I’m an actually doing a research project on Shafto Lane for my university unit. I am greatly interested in any information you may have on Enoch and how it came that the lane was named after him. I have discovered that it was later named Perdiau Lane which I believe related to the Dunlop Rubber Company. I’d love to meet you if possible. Barbara

    1. Jess says:

      Hi Barbara,

      I’d be happy to help in any way that I can. I don’t have a lot of information about Shafto Lane/Barratt Lane as such but I have bits and pieces about the Barratt family which hopefully will be of use to you. Rather than commenting back and forth I’ll send you an email direct to the email address you used to post the comment.

      I’d also be more than happy to meet you. 🙂

  6. Ron Barratt says:

    I have additional information about Enoch Barratt’s life in Perth and the growth of Wellington Nursery under both him anb his son James. Additionally family members might be interested in the acknowledgement of the Barratt name in connection with what is now the lower part of Shafto Lane. I am a fifth generation descendant of Enoch Barratt and in 1995 I produced documentation for the Perth City Council showing that the lane was once known as Barratt’s Lane (the spelling is from the Post Office Directories of 1897, 1903 and 1904. The council created a street sign which read “Formerly Barratt’s Lane” and placed it on the pole at the Murray Street end, below the name Shafto Lane. The sign was quite low and was stolen. It was replaced at my suggestion but disappeared again some years later.
    I recently approached the Council again and they came up with the idea of incorporating “Formely Barratt’s Lane” in the new style Shafto Lane sign. There is now one at both the Murray and Wellington st ends of the lane.
    I have pictures of them if anyone is interested.
    The lane was created from part of the land owned by Enoch, Lot V31 that ran from Murray St to Wellington St. Enoch and Mary lived at the Murray St end and the Wellington Nursery shop was at the Wellington St end.
    I would be interested to hear from any relatives who have additional information.

    1. Jess says:

      Hi Ron!

      I have to admit it’s very exciting to hear from the man who helped instigate the additional sign to Shafto Lane! I’m descended through James and then his son, Edward. If it’s okay with you I’d love to be able to contact you via the email you used to register your comment. 🙂 Please confirm if this is okay.

      1. Ron Barratt says:

        Hi Jess,

        My email address is ron.barratt@optusnet.com.au
        I have moved to Sydney to be with our children and grandchildren here on the east coast but I get back regularly and took pictures of the sign a couple of weeks ago.
        I’d be very happy to hear from you and to pass on any other information you require.

  7. tusherau says:

    Hi Jess,

    My name is Terri Usher. My maiden name was Hamilton. We share Enoch as our Great x4 Grandfather. I am related through Enoch and Mary Ann’s daughter Elizabeth who married Richard Ashby. Elizabeth’s great Grand daughter Agnes Dare Compton Thomas is my paternal grandmother. I am researching our family tree and came across your blog a couple of years ago. I have a tree on Ancestry (Hamilton Usher) and also have a private tree on using Family Tree Maker. What I would like to know, is can I put the story of Enoch on my tree please? Of course I will note your blog as the source and also post the link to your blog.

    I look forward to hearing from you!

    Terri

    1. Jess says:

      Hi Terri,

      It’s wonderful to hear from another descendant of Enoch and Mary Ann. 🙂 You’re most welcome to put the Enoch Pearson Barratt story on your tree. Thank you for your comment and good luck with all your family tree research. 🙂

Comments are closed.